Race Day is here. Wish me luck.

I know what you’re thinking.

Steve, you’ve published this post while you’re on the start line for the Chester Marathon.

Yes, yes I have.

I wanted to write this post to thank all the people who have helped me get here:

My long suffering wife and son who have barely seen me for four months as I’ve been out and about training in between working.

All the people who have given me advice and trained with me. Notable mentions go to Andrew, Kev, Wes and Tom.

My family. Notably my mum, dad and my brother.

My osteopath, she helped me get here today and racing fit.

Lastly, but not least, the man I have looked up to all my life. We had a short time together but he left me with these words that have defined most of my life.

“Son, don’t ever let anyone tell you that you can’t do anything. If you apply yourself and work hard then you can do anything you want.”

Those were the words of one John Grierson, my grandfather, my hero, my inspiration.

Image

This one is for you!!!

Leave a Reply

