How to make (running) friends and influence people

Whenever anyone takes up a new hobby they can quickly bore their family and friends to tears by constantly droning on about said new hobby.

What you need to do is find friends who share your hobby and who can be that outlet that family and friends, who are not that way inclined, cannot be.

I found myself in this predicament not long after immersing myself in the world of running. It was time for me to get out there and find some new friends who shared my interest in running.

Luckily, not long after taking up running, an old school friend showed an interest in getting fit and using running as a way of doing that. Within a year or two he had set up his own running club and not long after Carlisle parkrun was born and I was introduced to a whole host of people who I now class as friends that I speak to on a weekly basis.

Running groups and parkrun are by far the best way to make new friends. Solo running is great but the encouragement of having a group of friends running together is not to be sniffed at. Carlisle parkrun and DH Runners are like a little family to me. As someone who finds it hard to make new friends I’m very lucky that they’ve made it so easy for me.

You may also have that one friend who is constantly saying they will join you on a run ‘one day’.  Get them out and about with you and encourage them and it may just be that they become as involved in running and fitness as you are.

When I started my running journey I was alone and determined to change my life. I had also vowed not to join a running group as I didn’t want to be discouraged. But not all running groups are intense as some I have come across. When I first started running I never for one minute thought I would become a qualified running group leader or as involved in parkrun as I have become. I never for one minute thought I would meet a whole new group of friends.  But that’s the great thing about parkrun. The more you go and see the same faces week in and week out it’s hard not to become friendly.

With that being said I’d just like to wish my Carlisle parkrun family a happy first anniversary. We’ve come a long way since January 19th 2013. Some of us have smashed PB’s and taken on new challenges and others have ran 10k’s, half marathons, marathons and ultra runs when this time last year they were struggling to complete the parkrun course.

I suppose what I’m trying to say with this post is that new friends and a support network are out there it’s just up to you to make that first step to finding them.

Dream, believe, train, achieve

3 thoughts on “How to make (running) friends and influence people

  1. This is great! Thanks for sharing. I move around a lot because my husband is in the military and it’s not really easy for me to make friends because I’m shy and introverted. I got into running and fitness about 3 years ago and I’ve ‘discovered’ that jumping into the fitness communities at each place has been a great way to meet new people and make friends. Right off the bat I know I have at least one thing in common with them, right? 🙂

  2. Another great blog Steve. You are so right, we are a little family & we have all become great friends. I have never belonged to a group since giving up gymnastics in 1993. It is nice to be part of something where everyone is as passionate as the next. Long live parkrun & DH runners.
    I shall be wearing my vest with pride tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

