Lorton School 10k

Usually, at the beginning of the year, I struggle to get runs in. This is normally down to a drop in fitness at the back end of Winter or an illness of sorts.

I was doing pretty well at the start of this year though. I’d already completed a 10k, two half marathons and a five mile head torch race and I was well on my way to completing the 10 race target I’d set myself at the start of the year.

So the whole family were piled into a car (minus the cats who didn’t want to come) on the 22nd March to head out to Lorton (Just past Cockermouth) for the Lorton School 10k.

I was looking forward to another 10k. The last couple of half marathons had taken it out of me a little bit and, if I was being honest, I was still feeling a few niggles post marathon. (Lesson learned not to take too much of a break after a marathon). The drop back to a shorter distance for a few races was a welcome relief and would only aid recovery.

I’d not really researched the run in depth. It was close to home and it was a 10k what more did I need to know?

As it turned out I could’ve done with knowing a bit more.

If I’d known it was going to be as hilly as it was I certainly would have worked a few more hill reps in.

BodyFit Lorton 10K ElevationMrs C and the boy were going to sit and eat cakes while I was running. Unfortunately, about a minute before the run, hailstones made an appearance. The outlook looked gloomy and potentially they were going to have to sit in the car. I was starting to feel a little guilty for dragging them out here and leaving them with nothing to do. Luckily, as I headed to the start line, the clouds dissipated a little.

There’s not a whole lot to say about the run. 10k’s tend to go in a blink of the eye. It was hilly, it was up and down, it took me three miles to get into the run. There was a fair climb at halfway that was hard going but luckily there was a water stop just after reaching the top.

I gave the last three miles a hard push and it felt fairly comfortable with the exception of a potential Gingerbread Man visit (look it up if you don’t know what I mean). The last mile was by far my best mile and once I knew I was close to the end the trademark sprint finish came out. I heard the boy at the finish shouting “COME ON DADDY” and that spurred me on to go a little faster than I normally would.

I finished 99th in a time of 00:50:48 and beat a few adversaries along the way.

I was very happy with the time considering the hills and my niggles.

Mrs C and the boy had managed to have a decent time as well.

The medal was an edible biscuit but having been given it and worn it for a few minutes I’d decided that I wasn’t tempted to eat the biscuit that I’d just sweated all over. It sat in the house for a few weeks before it finally broke in two.

DIGITAL CAMERAOnce I’d finished this 10k I immediately signed myself up for the Lancaster 3 Bridges. I felt good and was aiming to pull in a decent time at Lancaster.

More on that next time.

Dream, Believe, Train, Achieve.

Leave a Reply

