10 songs for 10k

When I’m out running I often listen to my IPod. I usually like to listen to a mixture of playlists that I’ve set up.

Below are my  top 10 songs for getting me in the right mood when running a 10k. Even when I’m not running with my IPod I tend to have these songs in my head anyway.

10. Back in Black – AC/DC

I always get the same feeling when I hear the first beats of this song. It totally puts me in the mood for going out and smashing a run. For those about to run I salute you…

9. Shake me like a monkey – Dave Matthews Band

Heavy on the drums, trumpets and sax. It’s a virtual cacophony of awesomeness. If this one doesn’t get you amped up them there is something wrong with you.

8. I’m Shipping up to Boston – Dropkick Murphys

A bit on the shouty side this one but guaranteed to get the legs moving. If you’re that way inclined it might also make you think you’re in a film about the mob and dirty cops. “ARE YOU A COP, ARE YOU A COP?” If you don’t get that reference watch the film The Departed.

7. Danger! High Voltage – Electric Six

The opening guitar on this one should reel you in. The Soul Child 12″ Blitz Mix is even better for those longer runs. The only danger with this song is if the video flashes through your head when you hear it. Tina Kanarek in fetish gear is guaranteed to put most people off their stride (in more ways than one)…unless that floats your boat of course.

6. I’m a Freak – Enrique Iglesias (feat. Pitbull)

This is a relative newcomer to my playlists but has become a fast favourite. The dance music and drum beat gets the heart beating and arms pumping. Bit rude though…

5. Big Love – Fleetwood Mac

Not the most up tempo of songs, granted. But still remains one of the top all time playing songs on my playlist.

4. On a mission – Gabriella Cilmi

You probably didn’t see this one coming. Give it a try though…you’ll be surprised.

3. Pour some sugar on me – Def Leppard

“Love is like a bomb, baby come and get it on. Living like a lover with a radar phone.” So the lyrics aren’t exactly Bohemian Rhapsody but hey it does the job. If I want to rock out in the living room with a broom for a guitar then this is a guaranteed go to for me.

2. I’m Free (Heaven Helps The Man) – Kenny Loggins

When he wasn’t in the Danger Zone Kenny Loggins was doing his best impression of John Inman. (If you don’t get the reference you’ve probably never seen Are You Being Served?…google it). WARNING…this song (and video) is very, very 80’s.

1. Party Hard – Andrew W.K.

“When it’s time to Party, we will PARTY HARD!!!” At the end of a 10k I always like to have this one cued up. This will get the blood pumping, the heart racing, the arms moving and the legs running. Every time I listen to it it gives me the same adrenaline rush.

Well, that’s it. My top 10 songs for a 10k. Some you may have heard of, some you may experience for the first time. I hope you enjoy them all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

