Chester Marathon Approaches – Race Week

Three Sleeps…

Three sleeps until Chester Marathon, where I’ll be toeing the line with my DH Runners brethren.

I’m still carrying somewhat of an injury but I’m confident of finishing.

I’ve been listening to Dr Doug Jowdy who is an eminent sports psychologist (http://www.drdougjowdy.com/) and he advises to make pain your friend. Because as soon as you say that you can’t do it because it’s too painful then it’s game over. He suggests giving pain a name so I’ve decided to call pain Geoff. So when it comes to race day and I’m hitting that pain I’ll be embracing Geoff with open arms and inviting him for a coffee and a cake.

If you’d like to help with my fundraising for MIND then please do so at this link:

 http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-web/fundraiser/showFundraiserPage.action?userUrl=StevenClaringbold&pageUrl=2

But for now I’ll leave you with this quote:

“If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else. It will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.” – Bruce Lee

2 thoughts on “Chester Marathon Approaches – Race Week

Leave a Reply

