2014 – A Year In Review.

It’s been a pretty good 2014 for me all round.
 

It  all started in January (as most years do) with building fitness via Jantastic (check out the 2015 version of Jantastic at this link) then the Resolution 10k Run – finished in 49:44.

February consisted of the Barcelona Half – 1:50:21 followed by a very, very windy Blackpool Half – 2:00:09.

March was the Dodd Wood Head Torch run and then the Lorton School 10k – 50:48.

April had me doing the Lancaster Three Bridges – 49:10 (also the day we realised my wife was pregnant) and the Valiants Half Marathon (calf strain) in 1:53:01.

May was an amble about the Keswick Half Marathon in 2:28:52 and a 10k PB at the Moorclose 10k – 47:17.

June saw me taking part in the Tri Club 10k – 48:14 (PB for that course). The highly unenjoyable Borrowdale Trail Run Half Marathon – 2:38:11.

July saw myself and a team of DH Runners rock up to the Adidas Thunder Run. I completed 5 laps of the 10k course in the 24 hour time limit before succumbing to an unspecified injury 2 days later.

August was the Spartan Run 8 Mile Obstacle Course – 2:46:21.

September was a comeback from injury – Vale of York Half Marathon – 1:52:08 and the English Half Marathon in 1:48:34.

October was the big one: My second attempt at the Chester Marathon. I surprised myself by smashing my previous time and finishing under my sub 4 hour target – 3:49:22.

November consisted of the Lancaster Half Marathon – 1:53:30 and the Brampton to Carlisle 10 Miler – 1:20:54 (PB for that distance). November also saw the arrival of my second child (a daughter).

December, meanwhile, saw me take in a few parkruns (including one with my son on Christmas Day).

 

THANKS AND APPRECIATION GO TO:

My ever suffering wife, Claire.

The other two of the three wise men, Andrew and Kev.

The whole DH Runners family for their support and encouragement.

Kathyrn Osborne for putting me back together and getting me Marathon ready (and introducing me to Martin Rooney).

Alison at Warwick Square Osteopaths for aiding in my recovery and recuperation all year and assisting in repairing me from August onwards and getting me marathon ready.

And also a shout out to anyone who has given me encouragement or advice throughout the year.

2015 will see me dip into Duathlons and Triathlons which will be a whole other adventure. You’ve got to keep testing yourself right? It will also see me focus on 10k as a distance with at least 6 10k’s throughout the year and training focussing on improving speed and getting lean.

Good luck to you all, whatever your ambitions are for 2015.

Remember – Dream, Believe, Train, Achieve.

Leave a Reply

