Inskip Half Marathon – IN-SKIPPED

If I haven’t already mentioned it before I am the proud father to a 7 week old daughter.

My son is 6 and he’s a handful all on his own.

My wife is ever suffering but allows me to carry on with my running as she knows it makes me a better person at the end of the day. She knows when I haven’t been for a run for a while…I’m quick to snap and I’m not overly happy with myself.

So running, ergo, make me a better husband and father.

Anyway, back to the subject matter at hand; Inskip Half Marathon.

I’d signed up to Inskip because someone told me that there was hotpot at the end of it. I love a good hotpot so getting a run in and then eating hotpot at the end seemed perfect.

For most of January I’d been suffering with a pretty nasty cold which had affected the whole family. Luckily it hadn’t really gone to my chest so running was still achievable. But throw in a week of night shift at work and the demands of a new born had left me pretty fatigued.

Which brings me to the morning of the Inskip Half Marathon. I arrived in bed the night before around 1am and didn’t drift off to the land of nod until 2am as the little one was snuffling, gurgling and waking herself up now and then. I was awake again around 3am and again at around 4am. So little wonder that I didn’t hear any of the five, yes five, alarms that I had set between 6am and 6:30am.

The bus was leaving from the community centre about a 10 minute walk from my house at 7:30am and would be picking people up near the outskirts of Carlisle at 7:45am.

When my eyes opened and rolled over to the clock it was 7:47am. I’D MISSED THE BUS.

I quickly put my phone on to find missed calls and messages left on facebook but sadly it was all too late. My legs would not be running at Inskip and my mouth would not be tasting hotpot. My wife was equally gutted for me as she had fallen asleep downstairs after an early morning feed and hadn’t been able to wake me up either.

Never fear, I thought to myself, the Carlisle Resolution 10k is today so I’ll just head down to the racecourse early and sign up for that.

The Running Gods had other ideas though. As Andy came to pick me up and we were on our way down to the Racecourse a tweet appeared saying the run had been cancelled.

“I’m not meant to run today.” I said to Andy.

As it was we took a group of DH Runners out, all of whom were meant to be running in the Resolution Run, for a 6 1/2 mile run. Not the half marathon I had in mind but still miles is miles. I’d also made myself a Shepherd’s Pie to make up for the much missed hotpot.

The DH Runners who did turn up to Inskip had a fantastic day. Even winning the best team award for some amazing finishes.

So I’m a half marathon down which has resulted in me signing up to my nemesis: The Great North West Half Marathon in Blackpool. I vowed never to do it again but, having the day off work and a load of my running buddies doing it, I have signed up and training will continue in earnest to that point. I’ve also managed to bag myself a spot in the rescheduled Resolution Run.

February will be busy, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

