All roads lead to…

They say that I’m an impulsive idiot.

Whoever ‘they’ are…

I wish they’d stop though, it hurts my feelings.

Idiot

But, they are correct. I am impulsive…and a bit of an idiot.

I’d like to think my wife enjoys this implusivity. I mean, it’s lead to a wonderful trip to Barcelona in the past. Granted she wasted two hours waiting for me to finish a half marathon…but she’s been to Barcelona.

Anyway, getting to the point.

A lot of the DH Runners had signed up to Manchester marathon towards the end of the year. This is what I said at the time: “No ta, I’ve scratched that itch for a few years.”

In January I was regularly running ten miles and I was quickly approaching 35. I was also reading Phil Hewitt’s book Keep on Running about his marathon addiction. About two weeks before my birthday after an early, early morning feed with my little daughter I found myself trawling the Manchester marathon website. Within ten minutes I’d signed up. It was only upon waking later that morning that I realised what I’d done. I had eleven weeks to get up to speed and get some training under my belt.

I found myself wondering whether I really needed to smash the marathon or whether I could just go out and experience it. It was then that I decided that this would be totally no pressure, not bothered about time, just see what I can do on the day kind of thing.

I also wondered whether I could get to the start line without revealing it. Just rock up on the day, knock it out and then tell everyone. While this would have been fun on some aspect I probably would’ve been rumbled at some point when people started noticing the distances I was doing in training.

Plus there’s the fundraising aspect. It’s worth publicising the fact that I’m doing a marathon as it’s further publicity for Cure Rett.

If you’d like to sponsor me you can find me at http://www.justgiving.com/Steve-Claringbold-CureRett

I’m running a marathon and I can partly blame Phil Hewitt for this.

So I’m an idiot. An impulsive idiot. But you wouldn’t have me any other way…

9 thoughts on “All roads lead to…

  1. I’m right there with you.
    I usually do thing out of an impulse and then freak out for a couple of days. Anxiety and everything.
    But I think I secretly like that anxiety too.

Leave a Reply

