Live Long and Prosper

I apologise here for a slight deviation from running (although at some point during this we’ll veer back, wait and see).

Today, 27/02/2015, we lost Leonard Nimoy. Unashamedly I was a fan, a big fan and words cannot express how gutted I am about this.

I was brought up on Star Trek and, having a big interest in science, it was only natural that my favour turned towards Spock.

Barely a week went by where I wasn’t watching Star Trek III – The Search for Spock (as well as an unprecedented viewing of Grease every day for 26 months, but that’s just between you and I).

But as well as a great love for Spock it was as I got older that my endearment for Leonard Nimoy took hold. Having a job gave me the option to buy things and before long I was purchasing Nimoy’s biographies, as well as box sets of Dragnet, The Twilight Zone, The Man from U.N.C.L.E, Get Smart, Mission Impossible and TJ Hooker just for the appearances of Nimoy alone. Needless to say it wasn’t long before I’d purchased the box set of Star Trek the TV series and the films as well.

One of my greatest treasures though is my copy of Spaced Out. Nimoy’s performance of If I had a hammer is without doubt one of the greatest things I have ever heard. Don’t even get me started on The Ballad of Bilbo Baggins, genius and bizarre are the words that spring to mind.

Which brings me back to the running. In tribute of Nimoy I have consistently performed the Vulcan Salute whenever I spot a photographer taking a photo of me during a running event. It’s become a thing and now it will be something that will be slightly more poignant the next time I do it.

vulcan

Sadly, I never got to meet him.

Leonard Nimoy’s final tweet says it all:

Leonard Nimoy – March 1931 to February 2015.

For now, I set my phaser to weep and mourn the loss of a true great.

Live long and prosper.

Leave a Reply

