AUGUST CHALLENGE – #EatHealthySteve – STARTS TODAY.

So, with this being the 1st August my Eat Healthy August challenge starts today:

Start Weight is 12 Stone exactly.

Target Weight is 11 stone 6 pounds although an ideal weight would be more towards 11 stone.

Current BMI is: 25.5

This means I’m currently classed as being overweight.

Hitting my target weight of 11 stone 6 pounds will bring my BMI to 24.7 which just about brings me to a normal BMI weight classification.

Although a weight of 11 stone would be much better as that would bring me well within the normal weight range at around 23.4 BMI.

The BMI Classifications are as follows:

BMI Categories:
Underweight = <18.5
Normal weight = 18.5–24.9
Overweight = 25–29.9
Obesity = BMI of 30 or greater

With most of my weight being around my waist and a family history of premature heart disease I’m classed as potentially being at risk of heart disease and type 2 diabetes.

But the good news, according to my doctor, is that losing just half a stone is enough to significantly reduce those risks.

I’ll also be aiming to get a lot more water in me. The current guidelines are that you should be aiming to drink 2 litres of water a day. I’ll be honest, I’ll be lucky if I’m even close to 1 litre.

As well as that I’ll be trying to hit my 5 a day (or is that seven a day now?) I’ve picked up some recipes already which you can find at this link.

Another goal I’d like to hit this month is to tone up a lot more in the stomach/waist area. So I’ll be doing a lot of core exercises to help me achieve that. I’ll also be attempting a lot more DDP Yoga… right after I see my osteopath about this back pain. I hope to God it isn’t the return of sciatica.

Wish me luck, I’ll do an update in a week to let you know how I’m getting on.

To tweet healthy recipes/core exercises to me please use the hashtag #EatHealthySteve to @SteveNaive1980

You can also catch me on facebook at this link.

Also fundraising continues for Cure Rett at JustGiving at this link. Next up for me is Carlisle Tri-Club Triathlon on Sunday 2nd August and London Triathlon on Saturday 8th August.

Dream, Believe, Train, Achieve.

Leave a Reply

