It’s all in the hips.

“THE HIPS DON’T LIE”

Well, that’s what Shakira reckons anyway and, at the moment, I’m inclined to agree with her.
Cue inserting gratuitous photo of Shakira:

shakira

I’ve had dodgy hips since forever but the past couple of years of running have seen me doing hip exercises which has lengthened my stride and thus seen me get a little faster in the process.

But occasionally my hips just tighten up to the point where whatever I do I can’t seem to loosen them off. This tends to cause issues in the quads and hamstrings and running can be difficult. This is usually where my physio or osteopath (or both) come in.

And that’s exactly where I find myself at the moment. Halfway through training for Manchester Marathon and besieged with hip issues. I’ve not had the best start to the year with my back issues and catching the flu but I’m hopeful that once my hips are back to some sort of working order I’ll be ready to go.

I’m starting to think that I’m suffering from the amount of events that I took part in last year. I’ve been keeping on top of my stretches but sometimes niggles and injuries just accumulate to the point where whatever maintenance you were doing isn’t working anymore and outside help is needed.

So next week will see a trip to the physio and osteopath. However, on a brighter note, it will also see me join Ben Smith on Monday 15th as he continues his 401 challenge. Ben is running 401 marathons in 401 days to raise funds for Stonewall and Kidscape. So I’ll be joining him this Monday to run 17 miles of his marathon route. You can find more about Ben’s challenge here.

In terms of hip exercises I’ve been using these exercises to loosen them: http://www.fitbodyhq.com/fitness/12-great-stretches-for-tight-hip-flexors

And these exercises to strengthen them:
http://www.runnersworld.com/injury-prevention-recovery/video-hip-strengthening-exercise-for-runners

I’ll probably never have decent mobility in my hips and I’m resigned to the fact that I’ll never do the splits but hopefully, fingers crossed, I can get to the point where my hips don’t tighten up as much.

Maybe I should take up hula-hooping but I’m torn between the Roast Chicken or Beef flavour.

4 thoughts on “It’s all in the hips.

  1. Its those sitting down stretches where you have to try and flex at the hips and get your forearms on the floor that I find impossible. Room full of people get into position, me (a runner) Sitting pretty much bolt upright: “Thats as far as I can go!”
    Tight hips and hamstrings are what I’ve put it down to.I’ve started trying to address it with Yoga. However, learned a lesson this week in taking it easy. Pushed my hips a bit too hard in dragons (http://www.yinyoga.com/ys2_2.0_asanas_dragons.php) on Tuesday, and still struggling 2 days later.

    1. I’ve tried yoga on and off for the past couple of years but I’ve really started to get into it this year after a few lower back issues caught up with me.

      I’ve been using the DDP Yoga Now app as well as following the DDP Yoga workout DVD.

      It seems to be working. I’m a little bit more flexible.

      Still can’t do the splits though.

Leave a Reply

