Tuesday – Training

As I head towards Chester Marathon I’m currently in week seven of the multiple marathon training plan that I’m following. I’ve been following these plans since Manchester Marathon in the build up to my Marathon leg in The Lakesman and now into Chester.

The plan is adapted slightly from an original plan by Pfitzinger and Douglas from their book Advanced Marathoning.

This week is as follows:

Monday – Rest Day

Tuesday – 8 Miles with 10 x 100m strides

Wed – 12 Miles easy pace

Thurs – 4 Miles recovery pace

Fri – 9 Miles with 5 Miles @ 15k to Half Marathon Race Pace

Saturday – 5 Miles with 6 x 100m strides

Sunday – 16 Miles Long Run

It might seem like there’s a lot going on but I honestly can’t fault the training. It’s getting my speed and distanceĀ up at exactly the right point so when I arrive on race day I should feel like I can achieve the goal time I’ve set myself.

Leave a Reply

